Tallahassee Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
Dui Accidents & Your Rights
Drunk driving causes more than $51 billion in damages in alcohol-related crashes each year, notes the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). It was responsible for the deaths of 10,265 people in 2015, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). More than 1.4 million drivers in the United States were arrested for driving under the influence in 2010, according to the FBI.
Being involved in an auto accident can be physically debilitating and emotionally traumatic. An auto accident also can cost thousands of dollars in repairs and medical bills. If you’ve been in a car accident that was the result of a drunk driver, you may be entitled to compensation for your costs, losses, and pain and suffering.
For A Free Consultation Contact Us Now
Tallahassee: (850) 777-7777
Orlando: (407) 286-6000
Jacksonville: (904) 222-3333
Who is at Risk?
Drunk drivers put more than just themselves at risk. They put other drivers, pedestrians, and bicyclists on the road at risk as well. In fact, of the 1,140 children who were killed in traffic accidents in 2011, according to NHTSA, 181 of those deaths, or 16%, involved an alcohol-impaired driver. Anybody can be at risk of being hit by a drunk driver.
Punitive Damages & Third-party Liability
If you’ve been hit by a drunk driver, you may pursue a claim or lawsuit against that driver just as you would any other accident involving serious injuries that another driver caused. But because the other driver was driving while intoxicated, you have grounds to pursue punitive damages. These are damages ordered in cases of gross negligence and extreme recklessness.
Further, if an establishment served alcohol to a minor or served alcohol to an individual who was obviously intoxicated, that establishment may be liable as well. Dram shop laws provide accident victims legal recourse against these establishments to recover damages the accident caused.
Act Before the Statute of Limitations Expires
If you have been involved in an auto accident in Tallahassee or the surrounding areas in Florida that caused you serious bodily harm and you want to recover damages, it is imperative that you act immediately. Florida Code 95.11 sets the statute of limitations for recovery damages for personal injury at 4 years from the time the injury occurred. While some see this as a long time, acting as quickly as possible is advised to avoid any lost evidence.
In addition to acting immediately, retaining a Tallahassee drunk driving accident lawyer to help you understand your case, guide you through the claims filing process, and help you interpret the law and the possible types of compensation you may be eligible to recover can be beneficial. A personal injury lawyer who is familiar with DUI accident law can help pursue fair and just compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and more.
Contact Our Tallahassee Dui Accident Attorneys Today
If a drunk driver has injured you in the Tallahassee area, you deserve to be compensated fairly for your pain, suffering, and financial loss.
To start immediately on filing your claim, contact the attorneys at Fasig | Brooks today in Tallahassee at (850) 777-7777, Orlando at (407) 286-6000, or Jacksonville at (904) 222-3333. We will provide you with a free initial consultation.